Share |

Sunday, May 14, 2000 -- Cincinnati, OH
Cincinnati Flying Pig Marathon
The information below can be found at the official Flying Pig Marathon Site
[Coverage] [Results] [ Marathon Pics] produced by Photo
Cincinnati Marathon, Inc. is a nonprofit 501(c)(3) organization formed to host a national event, the Cincinnati Flying Pig Marathon, which raises money for charities. Proceeds will be donated to a list of over thirty charities.

The Mission of Cincinnati Marathon, Inc. is to provide a premier event open to athletes of all running abilities that is dedicated to supporting charities. It inspires community celebration and rewards the emotions of all participants, sponsors, volunteers and spectators. Photo
Many might say, "Sure, I'll run a marathon ... When pigs fly!" Well, pigs do fly in Cincinnati, evident by the flying pig statues at Sawyer Point Park overlooking the Ohio River. A gift to the city in 1988, the four bronze pigs commemorate Cincinnati's rich history in industry, in particular, the pork processing industry, for which Cincinnati was sometimes referred to as "Porkopolis".

Saul Medoza, the Inaugural Flying Pig Marathon's Wheelchair Champion with a time of 1:30:46, competed again this year on May 14, 2000. Mendoza's home base is Snellville, Georgia, and has a personal best time of 1:26:38, accomplished at the Boston Marathon in 1998. He recently earned his third-consecutive triumph at the City of Los Angeles Marathon by posting a narrow triumph over world record-holder Heniz Freiz (1:21:23 set in 1994 at Boston Marathon) in March 2000. He also won his third Columbus Marathon title in November 1999, becoming the Columbus Marathon Wheelchair Division's sole three-time male victor. Photo
Rudolf Jun, winner of the 2000 Flying Pig Marathon
Rudolf Jun was the winner of the 2000 Flying Pig Marathon! He defeated second-place finisher Isaac Barnes and the rest of the field with a time of 2:23:03.

Princeton High School grad Rebecca Gallaher has won the women's race in a time of 2:49:31, a new course record! Franz Nietlispach of Switzerland has won the wheelchair race in 1:35:59, edging Saul Mendoza. For more excellent news coverage on the Flying Pig Marathon check out