Share |

Wednesday, June 28, 2000 -- Pittsburgh, PA
2000 ACA Summer Criterium Series
Story by Jack Neyer with photos by Gunnar Shogren and Dave McKain

[Details] [Coverage] [Overall Results] [Pic Set 1] [Pic Set 2]

Race Photo
More racing action coming at you from the Oval
A total of 94 riders in three classes took advantage of the mild summer evening for a great night of racing in the Allegheny Cycling Association's Weekly Summer Criterium at the Pittsburgh Bike Oval.

Despite several solo break attempts, the 50-lap A race came down to a field sprint. Last week's most aggressive rider, Mark Nichol of the Pittsburgh Cycling Club, managed a decisive win followed by Matt Brungard of Mahoning Valley Cycling, who was second for the fourth week in a row and George Yoder riding for Team Freddie Fu. Rounding out the money winners were Jason Zimmerman of Greensburg Jamis, Saysana Ithavongsa of the Red Rose Rockets in fourth and fifth respectively, followed by Bret Baronak of Mahonining Valley Cycling and Kevin Westover of East Suburban Sports Medicine in a dead heat for sixth and Rob Acciavatti of GoMart in eighth. Following the A race, Frankie Ross and his dog Bumper entertained the crowd with their weekly two lap sprint, the first of which was won by Bumper, while the second ended in a tie too close to call (the video camera had been turned off).

Race Photo
Heading down the back stretch in the A race
Midway through the 40-lap B race, the Fox Velo boys worked in unison to pull back a strong six man break that was starting to look like the winning break. Consequently, the B race also come down to a sprint with Josh Shaffer of the Fort Frames team winning, Eric Jones of Team Freddie Fu in second and Pat Steele of Laurel Mtn Schwinn in third. Finishing in fourth through eighth respectively were Bob Riffle of the East Suburban Sports Medicine team, Colin Sandberg of the Pittsburgh Cycling Club, Hansel Lucas of Team Brooklyn, Donnie Panizales of Fox Velo and Jeff Moran.

In the evening's first race, Mike Rytel of East Suburban Sports Medicine won the C class field sprint, with Darin Schriver in second, Dave Butler of WVU in third, Mike Schroder of Team Brooklyn in fourth, Todd Copeland of Pizza Outlet/Cycle Works in fifth, Rocco Mazzei of Schwinn/Whitetail in sixth, Brad Best of Pizza Outlet/Cycle Works in seventh and Dave Curry in eighth.

In the series points competition, all the leaders, Matt Brungard (A), Josh Shaffer (B) and Todd Copeland (C), extended their leads.