Share |

Sunday, February 25, 2001 -- Harrisonburg, VA
MIROC BoarderX
Story and photos by Mike McCagh

[Details] [Coverage] [Pic Set 1] [Pic Set 2]

Git along little dogies
The Z Generation
BoarderX. The rules are simple: The first one down, wins. The rest, watch from the sidelines.

Massanutten's Intergalactic Race of Champions zipped down the Terrain Park on Sunday with four divisions of BoarderX competitors.Testing their winter speed and agility was a Ladies Open division, Intermediate Men's, and an Expert Men's class, each racing for cool snowgear prize's and giveaways. A -Rock Star" class was also racing, but these snow racers wanted cash instead of prizes. Ask Ethan Gram, he, oh Rock Star Champion, walked away Sunday afternoon with all the loot after dashing down the mountain faster than any other Rock Star.

Pardon me....exuse me...coming through
Racing was tight
The racing was very tight. Coming out of the starting gates four abreast and squeezing through a set of bumps, the race advanced before the course split and allowed some racers to swing left, around the first jump, and rejoin the race for the next hit.

Rejoining the race at the next jump were eager bodies pushing through narrow gaps and, occasionally, a tangled nose or tails would force somebody to the snowy floor. But all was cheers when the event wrapped up and everyone went home having seen great and fearless racing.

Jaime Justice finished first for the Ladies, Shannon Baker second, and Massanutten's own, Karyn Blanco snatched third in her first race back this year. Andrew Schrock won the Men's Intermediate division followed by Cody Boan and Chad Miller in second and third. The Expert Men's class went to Rodney White in first, Mike Crenshaw second, and Brian Shea third. The big money winner for the day went to Rock Star Champ Ethan Gram who walked away 100 dollars richer.

Congratulations everyone, hope to see you again next week for the MIROC Series BoarderX - Glass & Power Big Air!



1. Jaime Justice
2. Shannon Baker
3. Karyn Blanco 
Int. Men's
1. Andrew Schrock
2. Cody Boan
3. Chad Miller
1. Rodney White
2. Mike Crenshaw
3. Brian Shea
Rock Star Division
1. Ethan Gram  ($100 prize)