Share |

Saturday, March 31, 2001 -- Indiana, PA
Fools Run 10K (iPO Event Id#: 3155)
Story and photos by Julie Black

[Details] [Coverage] [Results by Class Male] [Results by Class Female]
[Pic Set 1] [Pic Set 2] [Pic Set 3] [Pic Set 4] [2000 Coverage]

Fools Run 10K
Happy walkers enjoying the scenery
The Indiana Road Runners Club hosted their first race in the 2001 Triple Crown. The event was proudly sponsored by S & T Bank and Indiana Hospital. This was the 23rd year for the infamous Fools Run 10K, which also included a 5K Race Walk. Despite the chilly temperatures, a large crowd lined the parking lot of the Indiana Ice Center, anxious to take off!

The walkers were the first to round the turn and take on the challenging climb back up the course's longest and steepest hill. Long time race walker Steve Bence kept a strong lead to capture 1st place overall with an amazing time of 25:45. Randy Davis(26:18), kept a great pace for 2nd, and John Hileman(41:29) finished 3rd.

The women walkers had some big smiles on their faces just before the incredible climb. Nancy Clawson smiled her way to a 1st place finish for the ladies with a time of 36:25. Carol Emanuel(38:03), was also happy to snag 2nd place, with Christine McGaughey(38:32), finishing strong in 3rd.

Fools Run 10K
Ryan B. keeps a big lead
In the 10K Run, racers were lapping the walkers on the scenic rolling stretch more than a mile before the finish. The first to stride over the horizon line was Ryan Bemder. Bemder was all by himself, flying to the line with a time of 33:17. Al Casagranda and Herb Cratty battled for 2nd place. Casagranda(34:12), finished just 2 seconds ahead of Cratty(34:14), to take the 2nd place trophy.

Once again, Tammy Slusser(37:05), finished 1st for the women and in the top 10 overall! Mindy Sawtelle(38:45), certainly held her own for 2nd, with Susan Zilinskas(43:14), rounding out the top 3.

Don't forget that there are two more races in the 2001 Triple Crown.
The Homer City 5K, and the Yellow Creek State Park 5 Miler.

Special Thanks... goes out to the IRRC (Indiana Road Runners Club), and to Dave Mapes for the results.