Share |

Sunday, October 13, 2002 -- Kasson, WV
8th Mountain Road Classic
and WV State Championship Bike Race
(iPO Event Id#: 5094)
Story and photos by Craig R. Cobb, originally published in The Barbour Democrat, Philippi, WV.

[Details] [Coverage] [Overall Results]
[1998 Coverage] [2000 Coverage] [2001 Coverage]

Race Pic
A pack of 14 brave the elements
Even by semi-professional and professional bikers' standards, the Mountain Road Classic Race is considered a serious challenge, encompassing a 53 mile course over three mountains in Barbour, Tucker and Preston counties.

Bike racers from West Virginia and several neighboring states converged at Kasson School on Sunday, October 13, for the 11:00 AM start of the race.

West Virginia winners in the Men's Category 1-3 Division were Greg Cook (1st place), John Barry (2nd place) and Steve Bird (3rd place), and in the 4-5 Division were Joseph Stone (1st place), Jeremy Rowand (2nd place) and Lucas Chandler (3rd place). First place in the Men's 60(+) age group was Leonard Gilkerson.

Race Pic
The crowd thins out
Sponsors for the race included Vandalia Velos, Cycling Management Group, Alderson-Broaddus College, Belington Clinic, Sports-N-Spokes, Tom's Printing Service, Fox's Pizza, Philippi Alignment and Tire Service, Philippi Convention & Visitors Bureau and the Barbour County Commission.

Those manning the course for the 3-county event included parents, coaches and swimmers from the Barbour County Swim Team and members of the Barbour County Amateur Ham Radio Club.

Assistance was also provided by the Barbour County Sheriff's Department, and the Barbour County Rescue Squad, as well as staff members from the Tucker and Preston County Sheriffs' Departments.

Proceeds for the event are donated to the Barbour County Swim Team Association to help defray costs incurred during summer league competition in the North Central West Virginia Swimming Association.

Photo on right - First row (kneeling) from left to right: Eric Fonville, John Barry, Joseph Stone, Lucas Chandler and Steven Cummings. Back row (standing) from left to right: Jim Hartnett, John Haight, Don McClone, Greg Cook, Steven Rowand, Jeremy Rowand, Leonard Gilkerson, David Wendell and Steve Bird.